Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Since my last post we have moved yet again. However, this was a much easier move since it was within the same neighborhood. We have been in Arkansas for almost a year and really love our neighborhood so we decided to buy. After renting for three years, this has been a nice change. It is always good to have a place that is your own; not that renting didn’t have an up side. We have enjoyed putting our own personal touches into the house. For the most part it looks great and we are getting back into a routine.

Now that we are not in such a whirlwind I have decided to practice cooking. I have always enjoyed cooking, but the outcomes are not always reliable. If I follow a recipe I do pretty well most of the time, so that is where I am going to start. My first focus is going to be on veggies. I don’t eat a huge variety of them but I am trying to branch out. Thanks to the local William Sonoma, I have 365 recipes in my hot little hands that are organized by season and listed in the index by main ingredient.

We have been receiving a FarmBox once a week with a variety of seasonal fruits and veggies that are both local and organic. This lends itself nicely to my personal adventure since we often get items like chard, bok choy, and collard greens. Our most recent delivery brought us some beautiful asparagus. Everyone in our house likes asparagus so that seemed like a good place to start.

I looked though the dozen entries for asparagus and landed on the “Spring Vegetable Tart.” I think part of the draw to this particular recipe was the photo in the book. I always do better when I have an idea of what the finished product should look like.   Anyway, this turned out to be a fairly simple recipe since it used premade puff pastry and very few other ingredients. I used puff pastry, Fontina cheese, asparagus, leeks, eggs, salt, pepper, and milk.

wpid-20140508_170708.jpg

This is my version.

wpid-20140508_170722.jpg

The photo from the book. 

Despite that I apparently used too much filling, this really did turn out tasty.  The kids ate the asparagus off the top and left the rest.  I guess egg on pastry shell is not so much a kid thing. From a grown up perspective the egg filling firmed up nicely. I even got some of my curly leeks to brown up; just like in the photo. Overall, this was pretty easy and I would totally make it again.  It would be good for a girls lunch date or an appetizer for a party.

The note about the recipe says that you could use any spring veggies, that it should be paired with white wine, and enjoyed on a patio or deck.

Personally, I think it would have paired well with bacon!

William Sonoma Spring Vegetable Tart

1 sheet frozen puff pastry (about 1/2 lb), thawed.

1c. shredded Fontina cheese

15-20 thin asparagus spears, ends trimmed

1 small leek, white part only, halved and thinly sliced

2 eggs

1/4 c.  whole milk (I used part heavy cream and part 2% because that is what I had.)

Salt and freshly ground pepper

 

Preheat oven to 400 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Lay the puff pastry on the prepared sheer fold the sides over to make a 1-inch rim, overlapping the pastry at the corners and present it lightly.  Inside the rim, prick the pastry all over with a fork. Sprinkle half of the cheese over the bottom of the pastry inside the rim.  Top with the asparagus, laying the spears vertically in a row from one side of the pastry to the other.  Sprinkle the leeks over the asparagus.  Bake for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, in a bowl, beat the eggs, milk, 1/2 tsp salt, and several grinds of pepper until well combined.  Remove the pastry from the oven. Pour the egg mixture evenly the asparagus and leeks and sprinkle with the remaining cheese.  Bake until the pastry is puffed and golden brown, about 10 minutes. Let the tart stand for about 10 minutes before serving.

