Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


This past week I had yet another glimpse into the thinking of my children, as it relates to religion.  I think Maya and Ethan were debating who made people.  Maya voted for God, and Ethan voted for Jesus.  I didn’t try to correct Ethan at that moment.  Besides, how would I have explained that whole situation to my three-year-old and five-year-old.  Anyway, it still seemed like a good time for me to ask some questions.

Me:  So Maya, if people come from God, where did God come from?

(Ethan jumped in and answered before Maya had a chance.)

Ethan: God comes from Arizona.

Maya: He does not, he comes from America.

I did my best to not laugh as I often have to do.  I may still have let out a little chuckle though.  I did however, give up on asking additional questions after that.

This got me back to thinking about the religious education, or more accurately, the lack of religious education that is happening in our house.  The kids are obviously interested in it, and I feel more strongly than ever that I may be doing them a disservice by not presenting them with much background.  So, I guess the next thing is to consider where to start.

I am thinking about placing the following personal ad in Parade Magazine.

Young family seeks a light hearted religious establishment that is able to provide multiple views on various world religions, interactive learning opportunities for all ages, and positive social interactions for families. This institution must like children (without being creepy), must be community service oriented, and have a good sense of humor about itself.  It must also be tolerant of young children with limited attention spans, and grown children with equally limited attention spans.  Minimal financial commitment is a plus. Organizations with a history of violence, secrecy and the use of fear tactics in the name of the greater good, need not apply.

