Tags

, , , , , ,


So some of the panic has subsided.  More accurately the panic has been replaced by new panic.  Although we still have no destination in Minnesota, we at least have some type of timeline.  It seems that although the buyer has requested a 10-day escrow, his wife is out of the country.  That is good for us.  This means that the buyer cannot possibly close escrow until July 20, 2011. We have three days from that date to get out of the house.  The moving company will not move us on the weekend.  The moving company will come and pack all of our stuff on the 20th.  They will come the following day to move all of our worldly belongings to storage in Minnesota.   So as of July 21st, we will be living with the in-laws. 

On a lighter note, I spent a beautiful weekend in the Napa Valley with my husband and some acquaintances.  It started with lunch at Bottega, a beautiful restaurant owned by Michael Chiarello. I had mouth-watering flank steak seared perfectly and field greens with the most gently fried artichokes I have ever had.  From there, it was on to Dean and Deluca for the most  delicious cupcakes ever.  The internal struggle of deciding between the many flavors of cupcakes was too much for me.  I was forced to buy two of these delectable delights.  I decided on Raspberry Champagne and Orange Creamsicle.  Orange Creamsicles in a cupcake wrapper!  Heavenly sweet cream cheese frosting with a hint of orange flavor atop a light fluffy vanilla cupcake.  The raspberry cupcake was also tasty, but not like the Orange Creamsicle.  Yummy.  Food seemed to be the topic of the weekend.  As the day went on, we made our way to the Robert Mondavi Winery where we enjoyed a private tasting and reception, dinner among the grapevines, and an outdoor meet and greet with Gavin Degraw and outdoor concert. Man did the wine flow.  The night was off with a stunning display of fireworks.  The memory of the glittering lights falling gently into the darkness of the grapevines across the entire vineyard will stay with me forever.   We stayed at a vineyard hotel called the Meritage Vineyard Spa and Resort.  Where I was pampered like a princess for two glorious hours.  I had my first real massage, almost as yummy as my cupcake.  It was a perfect way to release some of the stress that surrounds this moving situation.

To top off a perfect weekend.  I returned home to my lovely babies.  Despite being tired from all the swimming and hanging out with their cousins, Aunt Nicolle,  Grandma Debbie and Papa, the kids were glad to see us.  I miss them when we are gone.

